Enter Online Now
Championship Monifieth
Distance 3.25 miles - Tide Assisted
Date of Swim Sunday 1st July, 2018
Time of Swim 15:30
Entry Cost £30 (£16 if supplying own Boat & Crew)
Closing Date Friday 1st June, 2018
Eligibility First & Second Claim Club Members
Age Groups

Junior - 13 to 16 years in year of swim.

Senior - 17 years and over in year of swim.

Tide Making
Stroke(s) Freestyle/Breaststroke


Briefing Briefing will take place on the day at the YeAABA Clubhouse 40 minutes prior to the swim. The briefing will take place outdoors so please ensure you bring warm clothing.
Start On the starters/referees instruction, swimmers should promptly access the water via the beach and form a line facing up-river. Start will be by loud hailer or whistle.
Course This is a tidally assisted, point-to-point, straight-line up-river course using the flooding flow of the river, with a slight bend around the Castle point, TOUCH AND TURN BACK DOWN THE RIVER AT THE RNLI JETTY. The line will be as straight as the current and your ability permits. Please follow your boat at all times. This swim will be run under YeAABA Club Championship rules.
Finish By touching the river-facing wall of the YeAABA pier. N.B. A swimmer finishing, but missing the touch due to tidal conditions will be accorded with a certificate but no official time or place in the race.
Costumes Only traditional (must not extend beyond the end of the shoulder onto the upper arm and lower than the crotch onto the upper leg) swimming costumes/trunks will be permitted. NO WETSUITS, NO BODYSUITS. Two swimming caps may be worn.
Presentation Presentation of Awards will take place after the swim at the YeAABA clubhouse. The following Categories will be awarded:


Junior Boys Championship

The Kay Currie Cup

Senior Gents Championship

Charles Alexander Cup

Senior Gents Breaststroke

Kirsty Melville Trophy

Junior Girls Championship

The Kay Currie Cup

Senior Ladies Championship

Janet Wilson Cup

Senior Ladies Breaststroke

Steve Hackney Trophy

In addition to the annual awards 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place finishers in each category will be awarded a unique 'Ian D. McIntosh' medal in Gold, Silver or Bronze. All finishers will receive a personalized certificate.