Double Tay

Enter Online Now
Championship Double Tay
Distance 2 miles - Return Crossing of the river
Date of Swim Saturday 28th of July, 2018
Time of Swim 16:05
Entry Cost £25 (£15 if supplying own Boat & Crew)
Closing Date Thursday 28th of June, 2018
Eligibility First & Second Claim Club Members
Age Groups

Junior - 13 to 16 years in year of swim.

Senior - 17 years and over in year of swim.

Tide High Tide
Stroke(s) Freestyle/Breaststroke


Briefing Briefing will take place on the day at the YeAABA Clubhouse Car Park 30 minutes prior to the swim. The briefing will take place outdoors so please ensure you have appropriate warm clothing.
Start On the starters/referees instruction, swimmers should promptly access the water via the harbour slipway or ladder, and line form a line across the harbour mouth. Start wil be by loud hailer or whistle.
Course This is a point-to-point, double crossing of the river across the tide-ways, from Broughty Ferry Harbour, to touch and turn at the river facing wall west of Tayport Harbour entrance and return to Broughty Ferry Harbour, and the line is as straight as the currents and your ability permits. You MUST follow your boat at all times. This swim will be run YeAABA Club Championship Rules.
Finish By touching the river-facing wall of the YeAABA pier (a red & white finish sign will be displayed). N.B. a swimmer finishing, but missing the touch due to tidal conditions will be accorded with a certificate but no official time or place in the race.
Costumes Only traditional (must not extend beyond the end of the shoulder onto the upper arm and lower than the crotch onto the upper leg) swimming costumes/trunks will be permitted. NO WETSUITS, NO BODYSUITS. Two swimming caps may be worn.
Presentation Presentation of Awards will take place after the swim at the YeAABA clubhouse. The following Categories will be awarded:


Junior Girls Championship

The Grant Rooney Trophy

Senior Ladies Championship

Ella Kydd Memorial Trophy

Senior Ladies Breaststroke

Evelyn Kirkland Memorial Trophy

Junior Boys Championship

Jim Davidson Trophy

Senior Gents Championship

YeAABA Tay Swim Trophy

Senior Gents Breaststroke

Joyce McIntosh Trophy

In addition to the annual awards 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place finishers in each category will be awarded a unique 'Ian D. McIntosh' medal in Gold, Silver or Bronze. All finishers will receive a personalized certificate.